FAITH & ACHIEVEMENT

The Southwest Chicago Christian School Association is made up of three campuses, serving students from Preschool through High School.  Our schools have a heritage of providing a Christ-centered education for students. For more than 100 years, our goal has remained the same - to provide an educational experience that is integrated with the Reformed understanding of the Christian faith. Moreover, we provide an education that challenges students to develop their gifts and talents so they can live a life of service to the honor and glory of God.

Parents who choose to send their children to SCCS believe in a Christ-centered education. That doesn't mean, however, that families must attend churches from the Reformed tradition. In fact, an increasing number of parents from other Christian churches are choosing SCCS for their children.

Today, SCCS serves nearly 800 students over three campuses:

  • Oak Lawn, (Preschool-8th Grade)
  • Tinley Park (Preschool-8th Grade)
  • Palos Heights (Chicago Christian High School, 9-12th Grade)

Each school offers a broad educational program including core curricular subjects as well as  Bible, art, music, computer, physical education, a nationally recognized STEM program, and co-curricular activities. CCHS also offers classes in biomedical science, engineering, business and technology.

VISION STATEMENT

A Christ-centered learning community intent on restoring God’s world.

MISSION STATEMENT

Southwest Chicago Christian School Association provides a high quality Preschool - 12 education program in the Reformed tradition which emphasizes the lordship of Jesus Christ over all of life. It also prepares students spiritually, socially, academically, and physically to serve society effectively and glorify God by honoring Him in all aspects of life.

CORE VALUES

Southwest Chicago Christian Schools will be Christ-centered schools:

  1. Grounded in the Reformed tradition
  2. Providing academic and spiritual development for students
  3. Regionally-based for Christian families

PURPOSES

  • Pursuit of excellence – including personnel, facilities, program and educational standards, and governance
  • Comprehensive program – embracing academics, arts, and athletics
  • Christian community – emphasizing home, church, and school relationships while building on the broader church and family relationships
  • Student focused – intentional about the needs and abilities of students
  • Financially secure – providing for both near and longer term sustainability

BOARD of DIRECTORS

  • Chad Boersma
  • Nancy Bulthuis, Secretary
  • Clayton Carlson
  • Lori Evenhouse
  • Virginia Foster (not pictured)
  • Jack L. Haan, Vicar
  • Jennifer Harris, President
  • Russ Hollender
  • John Jelderks
  • Jeremy Kooistra
  • Donna Lemmenes
  • Jeffrey Ozinga, Treasurer
  • David Triezenberg
  • Jeffery Weidenaar, Vice President

LEADERSHIP

Henry Doorn, Jr. - Superintendent

BS Accounting, Trinity Christian College

hdoorn@swchristian.org

Mike Drury, Interim Principal, High School Campus

BA History & Secondary Education, Calvin College
MA Educational Leadership, Central Michigan University

mdrury@swchristian.org

Nate Pettinga - Principal, Oak Lawn Campus

Pettinga, Nate

BA Education, Calvin College
MA Education Leadership, Concordia University Chicago

npettinga@swchristian.org

Terry Huizenga - Principal, Tinley Park Campus

Huizenga, Terry

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Administration, Saint Xavier University
MA Teaching and Leadership, Saint Xavier University

thuizenga@swchristian.org

Jean Bergeson - Director, Mission Advancement

 

BA Business, Amberton University

jbergeson@swchristian.org

Tim Schnyders - Marketing, Recruitment, and Alumni Relations

BA Business Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Educational Administration, Governor's State University
Certificate of Advanced Study in Technology, Saint Xavier University

tschnyders@swchristian.org

Beth Goodfellow - Business Manager

BS Accounting, Northern Illinois University

bgoodfellow@swchristian.org

FACULTY 

Oak Lawn Campus

Altena, Heather

Librarian

haltena@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College

Bolhuis, Barb

Spanish

bbolhuis@swchristian.org

Bruinius, Trudie

Librarian

tbruinius@swchristian.org

Associate of Applied Science-Executive Assistant

Robin Cloman

Teacher Aide

rcloman@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Aurora University
M. Ed Early Childhood Leadership, National Louis University

DeBoer, Suzanne

Curriculum Development & Academic Support

sdeboer@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

DeJong, Cheryl

Music

cdejong@swchristian.org

BA K-12 Choral Music Education, Dordt College

Denman, Chris

Band

cdenman@swchristian.org

BME, Illinois Wesleyan University

Goudzwaard, Ruth

3rd Grade

rgoudzwaard@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College

Hillegonds, Dale

Middle School Social Studies & Science

dhillegonds@swchristian.org

BA Social Studies & Science, Trinity Christian College

Hofman, Beverly

Preschool

bhofman@swchristian.org

BA Early Childhood Education with Special Education, National Louis University

Isenmann, Marie

 

Teacher Aide

misenmann@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Iwema, Sharon

siwema@swchristian.org

Preschool Instructional Aide

Klein, Linda

lklein@swchristian.org

Preschool Instructional Aide

Kruzich, Kristin

Middle School Math, Language Arts, & Bible

kkruzich@swchristian.org

BA Math & Secondary Education, Calvin College
MA Teaching & Leadership, Saint Xavier University

Moro, Tammy

Grades 4-8 Academic Support Center Teacher

tmoro@swchristian.org

BA Math & Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Mudde, Sandy

smudde@swchristian.org

Before and After School Care Director

Nichols, Darcy

 

Physical Education

dnichols@swchristian.org

BA Physical Education, Trinity Christian College

Reppmann, Karen

2nd Grade

kreppmann@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Schaafsma, Becky

5th Grade

bschaafsma@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Schuurmann, Cathi

School Counselor

cschuurmann@swchristian.org

BA Education & English, Calvin College
MA Education, University of Redlands

Tiemens, Terri

 

Teacher Aide

ttiemens@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Tkoletz, Nancy

Middle School Language Arts, Math, & Bible

ntkoletz@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education & History, Monmouth College

Triemstra, Faith

ftriemstra@swchristian.org

Kindergarten

BA Education, Calvin College

van den Brink, Jayne

1st Grade

jvandenbrink@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College

Wendt, Bethany

4th Grade

bwendt@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

MA Reading Specialist, Olivet Nazarene University

MA Curriculum and Instruction ESL, Olivet Nazarene University

Winthrop, Laura

Art K-8

lwinthrop@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Reading, Governors State University

Tinley Park Campus

Bolhuis, Barb

 

Spanish

bbolhuis@swchristian.org

Brouwer, Sue

Academic Support

sbrouwer@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College
MA Special Education, Saint Xavier University

Cook, Sheila

 

Preschool

scook@swchristian.org

BA Early Childhood Education, University of Mount Union

Culver, Linda

Kindergarten

lculver@swchristian.org

BA, Special Education, Calvin College

DeBoer, Suzanne

Curriculum Development

sdeboer@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

DeJong, Cheryl

Music

cdejong@swchristian.org

BA K-12 Choral Music Education, Dordt College

Denman, Chris

Band

cdenman@swchristian.org

BME, Illinois Wesleyan University

DeVries, Lora

Fifth Grade and Middle School English & Bible

ldevries@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College
MA Curriculum & Instruction, Purdue University

Sue Elifson

Academic Support

selifson@swchristian.org

BA, Westmont College
MA, Saint Xavier University

Furlong, Grace

Fourth Grade

gfurlong@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Gabrielse, Tony

Technology

agabrielse@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Gier, Bonnie

Physical Education

bgier@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Hackel, Kristin

Aiding 1st Grade

khackel@swchristian.org

BS Elementary Education and Special Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Education, Olivet Nazarene University

Hengst, Mindi

Middle School Science, Social Studies, & Bible

mhengst@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Mathematics Education, University of London

Holwerda, Marcy

2nd Grade

mholwerda@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Dordt College

Kickert, Beth

2nd Grade

bkickert@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College
MA Reading, Writing, & Literacy, University of Illinois

Lindemulder, Deb

4th Grade

dlindemulder@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Otto, Mike

Middle School Math & Science

motto@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Northwestern College, Iowa
MA Administration, Northwestern College, Iowa

Rael, Rebecca

Preschool

RRael@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education and Early Childhood Education, Northwestern College, Iowa

Schuurmann, Cathi

 

School Counselor

cschuurmann@swchristian.org

BA Secondary Education, Calvin College MA School Counseling, University of Redlands

VanStedum, Laura

1st Grade

lvanstedum@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

Verver, Ryan

Middle School Math, Science, & Bible

rverver@swchristian.org

BA Science Education, Dordt College
MA Educational Administration, Governors State University

Voss, Carole

3rd Grade

cvoss@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Winthrop, Laura

Art K-8

lwinthrop@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Reading, Governors State University

Zoeterman, Jane

Library Media Specialist/Middle School

jzoeterman@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Chicago Christian High School

Altena, Christian

History

caltena@swchristian.org

BA History, Simon Fraser University

Altena, Heather

Librarian

haltena@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College

Bruinius, Trudie

Librarian

tbruinius@swchristian.org

Associate of Applied Science-Executive Assistant

Christiansen, Jake

 Christiansen, Jake

Math

jchristiansen@swchristian.org

BA Math Education, Calvin College

Cook, Nick

PE/Health

ncook@swchristian.org

BA Exercise Science & Psychology, University of Mount Union

Denman, Chris

Band

cdenman@swchristian.org

BME, Illinois Wesleyan University

Domanik, Tony

Bible

tdomanik@swchristian.org

BA Biblical Languages M. Div., Geneva College

Doorn, Karen

Math

kdoorn@swchristian.org

BS Education, Dordt College

Haan, Cathy

English & Bible

chaan@swchristian.org

BA English, Calvin College
M Ed. Curriculum & Instruction, National Louis University

Hills, William

Spanish

whills@swchristian.org

BA Spanish, History & Bible, Asbury College
MA Divinity, Canadian Theological Seminary

 

Jann, Nathan

Technology Coordinator

njann@swchristian.org

Jansen, Cory

Science

cjansen@swchristian.org

BA Integrated Science, Calvin College

Kamp, Amy

Social Studies

BA History, University of Northern Illinois

Kamp, Laura

Science

lkamp@swchristian.org

BS Chemistry & French, Illinois State University
MA Education, Saint Xavier University

Kreykes, Ken

Business

kkreykes@swchristian.org

BA Business Administration, Dordt College

 

Lenters, Cristin

Social Worker & Guidance Counselor

clenters@swchristian.org

BSW, Calvin College
MSW, University of Illinois at Chicago

Luke, Marco

 

Spanish and ELL

mluke@swchristian.org

BA in Spanish and ESL, North Park University

Luttjeboer, Maria

 

Choir

mluttjeboer@swchristian.org

VA Vocal Performance and Pedagogy, Dordt College
MA Vocal Performance, University of Iowa

Medema, Mary

Art

mmedema@swchristian.org

BA Art Education, Calvin College

Perry, Jason

Counseling

jperry@swchristian.org

BA University of Illinois
MDiv Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

Pittman, Kevin

kpittman@swchristian.org

Dean of Students and P.E.

BA Sociology/Criminal Justice, Trinity Christian College  

Potter, Linda

Business Tech

lpotter@swchristian.org

BA Business Education, Northwestern College Iowa
MA Business Education, Northern Illinois University

Rager, Jessica

Math

jrager@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

Schnyders, Lisa

English

lschnyders@swchristian.org

BA English, Calvin College

Siemer, Phil

psiemer@swchristian.org

BA English & German, Calvin College

Snape, Gretchen

Academic & College Counselor

gsnape@swchristian.org

BA English, Valparaiso University
MA School Counseling, Lewis University

Stanton, Philip

Mathematics

pstanton@swchristian.org

BA Mathematics, Wheaton College

Tanis, Lori

 

International Student Coordinator

ltanis@swchristian.org 

BS, Loyola University of Chicago

MSW, Loyola University School of Social Work

Triezenberg, Jordan

 

Social Studies

JTriezenberg@swchristian.org

BA History and Education, Trinity Christian College

Van Drunen, Hannah

Science

hvanmaanen@swchristian.org

BS Biology and Chemistry, Dordt College

Vilendrer, Kimberly

Science

kvilendrer@swchristian.org

BA Secondary Education & Biology, Saint Louis University
MA, Miami University of Ohio

Wegner, Brandin

 

English

bwegner@swchristian.org

Trinity Christian College

Zylstra, Mark

 

Athletic Director

mzylstra@swchristian.org

BA Mathematics, Calvin College
MA Coaching and Athletic Administration

Zylstra, Rebecca

 

Academic Services

RZylstra@swchristian.org

BA Special Education, Calvin College
MA Special Education, Webster University

Head Athletic Coaches

Andrew, Andy

ejandrewjr@andrewfamily.org

Bowling (Mens)
Bowling (Womens)

Christiansen, Jake

jchristiansen@swchristian.org

Cross Country (Womens)

Cook, Nick

ncook@swchristian.org

Football (Mens)

Dieck, John

Golf (Mens)

Frixen, Karl

Basketball (Women)

Harris, Kamille

Track (Women)

Johnson, Brian

bljohn22@comcast.net

Tennis (Womens)

Kirchhoff, Kelly

krkirchhoff@gmail.com

Soccer (Mens)
Soccer (Womens)

Pittman, Kevin

kpittman@swchristian.org

Basketball (Mens)
Softball (Womens)

Schaaf, Bob

Baseball

Van Assen, Karen

Volleyball (Women)