Southwest Chicago Christian School Association is made up of three campuses, serving students from Preschool through High School:

  • Oak Lawn, (Preschool-8th Grade)
  • Tinley Park (Preschool-8th Grade)
  • Palos Heights (Chicago Christian High School, 9-12th Grade)

Southwest Chicago Christian Schools and Chicago Christian High School are accredited by both AdvancED and Christian Schools International (CSI).  Our schools have been providing a Christ-centered education for over 100 years.  While we teach from a reformed Christian perspective, we welcome families from a variety of Christian denominations including Non-Denominational, Baptist, Lutheran, Catholic, and many more. Today, we serve nearly 750 students through our three campuses.  We know that parents and students have many educational choices.  What makes Southwest Chicago Christian Schools and Chicago Christian High School unique?  Why choose our school?  The statements below define who we are -- our faculty, administrators, families, and community.  We invite you to not only read these statements, but come experience our community first hand and come for a visit.   

OUR VISION 

Our vision and mission is to be "A Christ-centered learning community intent on restoring God’s world."  

OUR PHILOSOPHY OF EDUCATION

Southwest Chicago Christian Schools develops in our students an awareness of the lordship of Jesus Christ over all of life.  SCCS prepares students spiritually, socially, academically, culturally, and physically to serve society wholeheartedly and to glorify God by honoring Him in all aspects of life. 

OUR PROFILE OF A GRADUATE

Our administrators and committed faculty invest in every student, every day.  We are creating a lasting impact for God's kingdom.  Upon leaving our system, graduates will be:  

A FOLLOWER OF CHRIST

 

Celebrates the centrality of Christ, committed to and formed by God’s Word, living out His calling, building community, and living out the hope we have in Christ.

A SEEKER OF KNOWLEDGE 

 

Engaged in continuous learning, asking questions, embracing mistakes, and collaborating with others.

A PURSUER OF JUSTICE

 

Committed to reach across boundaries of religion, race, ethnicity, gender, and politics by fostering relationships, acting in love, and working to bring God’s kingdom to our communities both locally and globally.

A CARETAKER OF CREATION

 

Devoted to seeking and implementing creative solutions to the care and preservation of God's world.


OUR DISTINCTIVES

What sets Southwest Chicago Christian Schools and Chicago Christian High School apart from other educational institutions?  These distinctives are at the heart of what we do:

FOCUSING

 

on the Centrality of Christ.

CELEBRATING

 

the Diversity of our Community.

TRANSFORMING

 

Students through their Ownership of Learning.

DEVELOPING

 

God-given Gifts with Expanded Opportunities.

INVESTING

 

in Students through Committed Faculty.

CREATING

 

a Lasting Impact for God's Kingdom.

 

OUR BOARD of DIRECTORS

  • Jeffery Weidenaar, President
  • Jack L. Haan, Vice President
  • Jeremy Kooistra, Secretary
  • Jeffrey Ozinga, Treasurer
  • Virginia Foster, Vicar
  • Chad Boersma
  • Robert Burkum
  • Clayton Carlson
  • Kristal Coley
  • Lynnae  Dieck
  • Lori Evenhouse
  • Russ Hollender
  • John Jelderks
  • David Triezenberg

 

 

 

 

 

OUR LEADERSHIP

 Henry Doorn, Jr., - Superintendent     Mike Drury - Principal, Chicago Christian High School 

BS Accounting, Trinity Christian College

hdoorn@swchristian.org

BA History & Secondary Education, Calvin College
MA Educational Leadership, Central Michigan University

mdrury@swchristian.org

   
Nate Pettinga - Principal, Oak Lawn Campus Phil Siemer - Principal, Tinley Park Campus
Pettinga, Nate Siemer, Phil

BA Education, Calvin College
MA Educational Leadership, Concordia University Chicago

npettinga@swchristian.org

BA English & German, Calvin College
MA English Composition, Purdue University Northwest
Principal Endorsement, Fort Hayes State University

psiemer@swchristian.org

   
Jean Bergeson - Director of Mission Advancement Suzanne DeBoer - Curriculum Director
Jean Bergeson

BA Business, Amberton University

jbergeson@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

sdeboer@swchristian.org

   
Beth Goodfellow - Business Manager  
 

BS Accounting, Northern Illinois University

bgoodfellow@swchristian.org

 

 

OUR FACULTY 

Oak Lawn Campus

 Altena, Heather      Bolhuis, Barb     Bruinius, Trudie     Cloman, Robin
     

Librarian

haltena@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College

 

Spanish

bbolhuis@swchristian.org

 

Librarian

tbruinius@swchristian.org

Associate of Applied Science-Executive Assistant

  Teacher Aide

rcloman@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Aurora University
M. Ed Early Childhood Leadership, National Louis University

             
DeJong, Cheryl   Denman, Chris    Goudzwaard, Ruth   Hillegonds, Dale
           

Music

cdejong@swchristian.org

BA K-12 Choral Music Education, Dordt College

 

  Band

cdenman@swchristian.org

BME, Illinois Wesleyan University

 

3rd Grade

rgoudzwaard@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College

  Middle School Social Studies & Science

dhillegonds@swchristian.org

BA Social Studies & Science, Trinity Christian College

             
 Hofman, Beverly   Holwerda, Marcy   Isenmann, Marie   Iwema, Sharon
     

Preschool

bhofman@swchristian.org

BA Early Childhood Education with Special Education, National Louis University

  1st Grade

mholwerda@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Dordt College

 

Teacher Aide

misenmann@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

 

Preschool Instructional Aide

siwema@swchristian.org

 

             
Klein, Linda   Kruzich, Kristin   Luttjeboer, Maria   Moro, Tammy
   

 

 

Preschool Instructional Aide

lklein@swchristian.org

 

Middle School Math, Language Arts, & Bible

kkruzich@swchristian.org

BA Math & Secondary Ed, Calvin College
MA Teaching & Leadership, Saint Xavier University

 

Choir

mluttjeboer@swchristian.org

BA Vocal Performance and Pedagogy, Dordt College
MA Vocal Performance, University of Iowa

 

Academic Support Center 

tmoro@swchristian.org

BA Math & Elementary Ed, Trinity Christian College

 

             
Mudde, Sandy   Nichols, Darcy     Reppmann, Karen    Schaafsma, Becky
           

Before and After School Care Director

smudde@swchristian.org

  Physical Education

dnichols@swchristian.org

BA Physical Education, Trinity Christian College

 

2nd Grade

kreppmann@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

 

5th Grade

bschaafsma@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

             
Schuurmann, Cathi   Tiemens, Terri   Tkoletz, Nancy   Triemstra, Faith
     
Counselor

cschuurmann@swchristian.org

BA Education & English, Calvin College
MA Education, University of Redlands

 

Teacher Aide

ttiemens@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

  Middle School Language Arts, Math, & Bible

ntkoletz@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education & History, Monmouth College

 

Kindergarten

ftriemstra@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College

             
VanDommelen, Allison   Wendt, Bethany    Winthrop, Laura    

 

knighthead full color

         

K-8 Computer, Technology Instruction Coach

avandommelen@swchristian.org

BA-Spanish, Calvin College

 

  4th Grade

bwendt@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

MA Reading Specialist, Olivet Nazarene University

MA Curriculum and Instruction ESL, Olivet Nazarene University

  Art K-8

lwinthrop@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Reading, Governors State University

   

 

Tinley Park Campus

 

 Anderson, Kathleen   Bolhuis, Barb     Boss, Brittany    Brouwer, Sue 
  

knighthead full color

   

 

knighthead full color

 

Middle School

kanderson@swchristian.org 

BS Math/Computer Science & Education, Trinity Christian College

 

Spanish

bbolhuis@swchristian.org

 

 

5th Grade

bboss@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

  Academic Support

sbrouwer@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College
MA Special Education, Saint Xavier University

             
Cook, Sheila     Culver, Linda    DeJong, Cheryl    Denman, Chris
         

3rd Grade

scook@swchristian.org

BA Early Childhood Education, University of Mount Union

 

Kindergarten

lculver@swchristian.org

BA, Special Education, Calvin College

  Music and Choir

cdejong@swchristian.org

BA K-12 Choral Music Education, Dordt College

  Band

cdenman@swchristian.org

BME, Illinois Wesleyan University

             
DeVries, Lora   Elifson, Sue   Furlong, Grace   Gabrielse, Tony
       

5th Grade and Middle School English & Bible

ldevries@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Calvin College

MA Curriculum & Instruction, Purdue University

  Academic Support

selifson@swchristian.org

BA, Westmont College
MA, Saint Xavier University

  4th Grade

gfurlong@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

 

Tech Coach and Computer Teacher

agabrielse@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

             
Gier, Bonnie   Hackel, Kristin   Hengst, Mindi   Kickert, Beth
     
Physical Education

bgier@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

  5th Grade

khackel@swchristian.org

BS Elementary Education and Special Education, Trinity Christian College

MA Education, Olivet Nazarene University

  Middle School Science, Social Studies, & Bible

mhengst@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Mathematics Education, University of London

 

2nd Grade

bkickert@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College
MA Reading, Writing, & Literacy, University of Illinois

             
Kooiman, Bonnie   Natale, Nanci    Nichols, Darcy   Otto, Mike

 knighthead full color

 

   knighthead full color      

Kindergarten

bkooiman@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

 

 

 Preschool

nnatale@swchristian.org

BA, Eastern Illinois University

   Physical Education

dnichols@swchristian.org

BA Physical Education, Trinity Christian College

 

Middle School Math & Science

motto@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Northwestern College, Iowa
MA Administration, Northwestern College, Iowa

             
 Rael, Rebecca   Schaafsma, Phil   Schuurman, Cathi    VandenBosch, Mary
     knighthead full color      knighthead full color
Preschool

RRael@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education and Early Childhood Education, Northwestern College, Iowa

 

Middle School Athletic Director

pschaafsma@swchristian.org

 

School Counselor

cschuurmann@swchristian.org

BA Secondary Education, Calvin College MA School Counseling, University of Redlands

 

Middle School Mathematics

MVandenbosch@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

             
VanStedum, Laura   Voss, Carole    Winthrop, Laura   Zoeterman, Jane
       
1st Grade

lvanstedum@swchristian.org

BA Elementary Education, Trinity Christian College

 

3rd Grade

cvoss@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

  Art K-8

lwinthrop@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College
MA Reading, Governors State University 

 

Library Media Specialist/ Middle School

jzoeterman@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College 

 

Chicago Christian High School

Altena, Christian    Altena, Heather    Bruinius, Trudie     Christiansen, Jake
      Christiansen, Jake

History

caltena@swchristian.org

BA History, Simon Fraser University

 

Librarian

haltena@swchristian.org

BA Education, Calvin College

 

Librarian

tbruinius@swchristian.org

Associate of Applied Science-Executive Assistant

 

Math

jchristiansen@swchristian.org

BA Math Education, Calvin College

             
Cook, Nick   Denman, Chris   Domanik, Tony   Doorn, Karen
     

PE/Health

ncook@swchristian.org

BA Exercise Science & Psychology, University of Mount Union

 

Band

cdenman@swchristian.org

BME, Illinois Wesleyan University

 

Bible

tdomanik@swchristian.org

BA Biblical Languages M. Div., Geneva College

 

Math

kdoorn@swchristian.org

BS Education, Dordt College

             
Haan, Cathy   Hills, William   Jann, Nathan   Jansen, Cory
     

English & Bible

chaan@swchristian.org

BA English, Calvin College
M Ed. Curriculum & Instruction, National Louis University

 

Spanish

whills@swchristian.org

BA Spanish, History & Bible, Asbury College
MA Divinity, Canadian Theological Seminary

 

Technology Coordinator

njann@swchristian.org

 

Science

cjansen@swchristian.org

BA Integrated Science, Calvin College

             
Kamp, Amy   Kamp, Laura   Kreykes, Ken    Lenters, Cristin
     

Social Studies

AKamp@swchristian.org 

BA History, University of Northern Illinois

 

Science

lkamp@swchristian.org

BS Chemistry & French, Illinois State University
MA Education, Saint Xavier University

 

Business

kkreykes@swchristian.org

BA Business Administration, Dordt College

 

Social Worker, Guidance Counselor, Theater

clenters@swchristian.org

BSW, Calvin College
MSW, University of Illinois at Chicago

             
Luke, Marco   Luttjeboer, Maria   Medema, Mary   Perry, Jason
     

Spanish and ELL

mluke@swchristian.org

BA in Spanish and ESL, North Park University

 

Choir

mluttjeboer@swchristian.org

BA Vocal Performance and Pedagogy, Dordt College
MA Vocal Performance, University of Iowa

 

Art

mmedema@swchristian.org

BA Art Education, Calvin College

 

Counseling

jperry@swchristian.org

BA University of Illinois
MDiv Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

             
Pittman, Kevin    Potter, Linda    Rager, Jessica    Schnyders, Lisa
           

Dean of Students, Physical Education

kpittman@swchristian.org

BA Sociology/Criminal Justice, Trinity Christian College  

   

Registrar, Business Technology

lpotter@swchristian.org

BA Business Education, Northwestern College Iowa
MA Business Education, Northern Illinois University

   

Mathematics

jrager@swchristian.org

BA Education, Trinity Christian College

   

English

lschnyders@swchristian.org

BA English, Calvin College

             
  Snape, Gretchen    Stanton, Philip   Stidham, Megan    Tanis, Lori
          knighthead full color    
Academic & College Counselor

gsnape@swchristian.org

BA English, Valparaiso University
MA School Counseling, Lewis University

 

Mathematics

pstanton@swchristian.org

BA Mathematics, Wheaton College

 

Academic Services

MStidham@swchristian.org

BS Education, Liberty University

MAT Theology, Fuller Theological Seminary

 

International Student Coordinator

ltanis@swchristian.org 

BS, Loyola University of Chicago

MSW, Loyola University School of Social Work

             
Triezenberg, Jordan   Van Drunen, Hannah   Vilendrer, Kimberly   Wegner, Brandin
     

Social Studies

JTriezenberg@swchristian.org

BA History and Education, Trinity Christian College

 

Science

hvanmaanen@swchristian.org

BS Biology and Chemistry, Dordt College

 

Science

kvilendrer@swchristian.org

BA Secondary Education & Biology, Saint Louis University
MA, Miami University of Ohio

 

English

bwegner@swchristian.org

Trinity Christian College

             
Zylstra, Mark   Zylstra, Rebecca        
         

Athletic Director

mzylstra@swchristian.org

BA Mathematics, Calvin College
MA Coaching and Athletic Administration

 

Academic Services

RZylstra@swchristian.org

BA Special Education, Calvin College
MA Special Education, Webster University

       

 

OUR HEAD ATHLETIC COACHES

Chicago Christian High School

Andrew, Andy   

 Christiansen, Jake

  Cook, Nick    Coote, Cassidy
       knighthead full color

ejandrewjr@andrewfamily.org

Bowling (Womens)

 

jchristiansen@swchristian.org

Track & Field (Mens), Cross Country

 

ncook@swchristian.org

Football (Mens)

 

Competition Cheer

             
 Frixen, Karl   Johnson, Brian   Kamp, Bert   Kirchhoff, Kelly
 knighthead full color      knighthead full color  

Basketball (Womens) 

 

bljohn22@comcast.net

Tennis (Womens)

  Golf (Mens)  

krkirchhoff@gmail.com

Soccer (Mens)
Soccer (Womens)

             
Lindemulder, Deb   Pittman, Kevin    Schaaf, Bob    Van Assen, Karen

 Lindemulder, Deb

 

 

     

Volleyball (Mens)

DLindemulder@swchristian.org

 

Basketball (Mens)
Softball (Womens)

kpittman@swchristian.org 

   Baseball     Volleyball (Womens)